Support during insolvency procedures

Company Fashion and sport retail; 60 branches in Germany and Austria;

Revenue of €285 million; 2,000 employees
Project type and duration Help with liquidation following insolvency, three years
Our role Interim managing director/liquidator/consultant at several group companies
Background Despite the restructuring process running to plan, the banks involved wanted to terminate their credit facilities. The company was forced to apply for bankruptcy. Consequently, the entire group was affected, including its subsidiaries abroad
Remit and results

The insolvency administrator required professional assistance as quickly as possible in a complex, time-critical situation and engaged the MSP manager to work with the insolvency team in a wide range of areas and roles, such as:

  • Negotiations with creditors (suppliers and banks)
  • Negotiations with investors
  • Remarketing major assets, including shareholdings, property and brands
  • Winding up and liquidating various group companies
  • Optimising operating profit, initially as a going concern run by the administrator, then as part of the liquidation

When a restructuring by transfer (übertragende Sanierung) became impossible and the company could not be run as a going concern by a new owner, we supported the insolvency administrator until the process was completed. The value of the assets was much higher than the administrator expected.

Unterstützung Insolvenzverfahren

Unternehmen Retail Fashion und Sport; 60 Filialen in D und A;
Umsatz 285 Mio.€; 2.000 Mitarbeiter
Projekttyp/-dauer Unterstützung der Abwicklung nach Insolvenz, 3 Jahre
Unsere Rolle Interim GF / Liquidator / Berater in mehreren Konzerngesellschaften
Die Ausgangssituation Trotz planmäßig verlaufendem Restrukturierungsprozess wollen die beteiligten Banken ihr Kreditengagement beenden. Das Unternehmen ist gezwungen, Insolvenzantrag zu stellen. In der Folge ist davon die gesamte Gruppe inkl. der Auslandstöchter betroffen.
Die Aufgabenstellung und die Resultate

Die Insolvenzverwaltung benötigt schnellstmöglich professionelle Unterstützung in einer komplexen und zeitkritischen Situation und beauftragt den MSP-Manager, im Insolvenzteam in unterschiedlichsten Bereichen und Funktionen mitzuarbeiten:

  • Verhandlung mit Gläubigern (Lieferanten und Banken)
  • Verhandlung mit Investoren
  • Verwertung wesentlicher Assets wie Beteiligungen, Grundstücke und Marken
  • Abwicklung und Liquidation diverser Konzerngesellschaften
  • Optimierung des betriebswirtschaftlichen Ergebnisses, zunächst im Rahmen der Fortführung des Betriebs durch die Insolvenzverwaltung, später im Rahmen der Abwicklung

Nachdem es zu keiner übertragenden Sanierung und damit Fortführung durch einen neuen Eigentümer kommt, unterstützen wir die Arbeit der Insolvenzverwaltung bis zum Abschluss des Verfahrens. Die Masse liegt deutlich über den Erwartungen der Insolvenzverwaltung.